Bears QB Nick Foles among Comeback Player betting favorites; Akiem Hicks also on oddsboard

Nick Foles, Akiem Hicks, Jan 6 2019 (AP Photo Nam Y. Huh)
Nick Foles, Akiem Hicks, (AP Photo/Nam Y. Huh)
Share on facebook
Share on google
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

Following a middling campaign last year, Bears fans are looking for a return to the team’s 2018 form in the 2020 season ahead. Per odds in the AP Comeback Player of the Year betting market, Chicago has personnel on both sides of the ball to help deliver that sort of improvement.

Two players on the Bears roster – led by newly-acquired quarterback Nick Foles – appear on the Comeback Player futures board at FoxBet. At 6/1 odds, Foles is the fourth favorite, behind Ben Roethlisberger (3/1), Cam Newton (5/1) and J.J. Watt (11/2).

Further down the oddsboard is defensive end Akiem Hicks at 66/1.

Foles, who’ll compete with Mitchell Trubisky for Chicago’s starting QB job, has had just one award-worthy season during his NFL career – and that was back in 2013, when he inserted himself into the MVP conversation by throwing for 2,891 yards, 27 touchdowns and just two INTs in 13 games for the Eagles. But after less-than-impressive one-year stints in St. Louis and Kansas City, Foles returned to Philadelphia, and in 2017-18, he stepped in for an injured Carson Wentz and led the Eagles to a Super Bowl title. That championship run suggests Foles has the pedigree to earn this award, and QBs are frequent winners.

From a broader perspective, however, the betting market isn’t expecting the addition of Foles to make much of a difference in Chicago. The Bears’ 40/1 odds to win Super Bowl 55 have not changed at the Westgate Las Vegas SuperBook, and oddsmakers at Circa did not adjust the team’s win total of 8.5 (OVER -125) after news of the trade with the Jaguars broke.

More NFL futures: Colts’ Rivers for MVP | Bucs with Brady

As a longshot, Hicks is a compelling candidate for Comeback Player in 2020. For the 2018 season, he was rated as the 11th-best player in the entire league by Pro Football Focus, but injury kept him out of all but five games last season.

This award does go to defenders on occasion, most recently Eric Berry in 2015, although his was a special circumstance with the Chiefs safety having overcome Hodgkin’s lymphoma. Greg Ellis (2007) and Teddy Bruschi (2005) were also Comeback Player honorees.

The top of the Comeback Player oddsboard, meanwhile, is replete with quarterbacks whose 2020 teams are not yet known, with Newton, Andy Dalton and Joe Flacco among the top nine betting choices.

Odds to win 2020 AP Comeback Player of Year award

Ben Roethlisberger +300
Cam Newton +500
JJ Watt +550
Nick Foles +600
Matthew Stafford +750
AJ Green +800
Miles Garrett +1200
Andy Dalton +3300
Joe Flacco +3500
DeSean Jackson +3500
CJ Mosley +3500
Malcolm Butler +5000
Jordan Reed +5000
Alex Smith +6000
Stephen Gostkowski +6000
Kwon Alexander +6000
Bradley Chubb +6000
Akiem Hicks +6600
Keanu Neal +6600
Alshon Jeffery +7000
TY Hilton +8000
Lamar Miller +9000
Xavien Howard +10000
Trent Williams +10000
Josh Rosen +10000
Eli Manning +10000

Follow us: Oddsmakers continue to post NFL futures during hiatus