Friday college hoops odds, betting primer: Purdue favored over VCU to continue mid-season tournament form

Purdue guard Jahaad Proctor, Nov. 16, 2019
Purdue guard Jahaad Proctor (AP Photo Michael Conroy)
Share on facebook
Share on google
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

Purdue owns an 18-4 straight-up record since the 2014-15 season during in-season tournaments and is a 3-point favorite Friday night against No. 20 VCU in the final game of the third round of the Emerald Coast Classic (9:30 p.m. ET/8:30 p.m. CT, CBSSN).

One of our preseason teams to watch thanks to more than 80% of its minutes returning, VCU is off to a 6-0 SU/2-4 ATS start with a solid win over LSU under its belt. Led by coach Mike Rhoades, the Rams are again among the top defensive teams in the country, ranking fifth in turnover percentage and 21st overall in defensive efficiency.

VCU senior point guard Marcus Evans is a tough matchup for the Boilers’ Eric Hunter, but Purdue has the length advantage at nearly every other position, especially down low with 7-foot-3 big man Matt Haarms against VCU’s Marcus Santos-Silva. The 6-foot-7 presence has led the Rams in rebounding in every game, grabbing 10.5 boards per contest.

Purdue (3-2 SU, 2-3 ATS) is well-versed with top-30 defenses, having lost to Texas’ No. 25 unit and Marquette’s No. 29 defensive efficiency. The Boilers were in position to win both games, but collapsed late. Voids created by the losses of Carsen Edwards and Ryan Kline have left the Boilers without a go-to shooter in clutch time, but KenPom ranks them No. 13 in offensive efficiency. With upcoming games against either Florida State or Tennessee and Virginia, Jahaad Proctor needs to be No. 1 backcourt option for Matt Painter if the Boilers are to live up to their No. 9 KenPom ranking.

KenPom projects a 64-61 win for Purdue, while fellow college basketball analyst Bart Torvick has the Boilers winning 68-67, which would go OVER the consensus 128.5 total. Owning the second-slowest tempo in the country and struggling with shooting, Purdue has gone UNDER in all but one game this season.

Friday’s college basketball betting slate features plenty of opportunities around the clock, with games stretching from the Bahamas to California.

Here’s a rundown of betting lines, analysis and predictions for Friday’s marquee games that tip off after noon ET, beginning with the Battle 4 Atlantis title game.

No. 8 Gonzaga vs. Michigan betting lines and predictions

Tip-off: 2 p.m. ET/1 p.m. CT, ESPN
Records: GON 8-0 SU, 4-4 ATS; MICH 6-0 SU, 4-2 ATS
Lines: Gonzaga -4, 144
KenPom: Gonzaga 73-70
Torvick: Gonzaga 73-70

No. 2 Louisville vs. Western Kentucky betting lines and predictions

Tip-off: 5 p.m. ET/4 p.m. CT
Records: LOU 6-0 SU, 2-4 ATS; WKU 6-1 SU, 2-4 ATS
Lines: Louisville -11.5, 139
KenPom: Louisville 77-65
Torvick: Louisville 80-70

No. 1 Duke vs. Winthrop betting lines and predictions

Tip-off: 7 p.m. ET/6 p.m. CT, ACCN
Records: Duke 6-1 SU, 4-3 ATS; WIN 4-3 SU, 4-1 ATS
Lines: Duke -23.5, 140
KenPom: Duke 80-58
Torvick: Duke 84-60

No. 17 Tennessee vs. Florida State betting lines and predictions

Tip-off: 7 p.m. ET/6 p.m. CT, CBSSN
Records: TENN 5-0 SU, 3-2 ATS; FSU 5-1 SU, 3-3 ATS
Lines: Florida State -1.5, 134.5
KenPom: Florida State 66-65
Torvick: Florida State 67-64

No. 13 Seton Hall vs. Iowa State betting lines and predictions

Tip-off: 7 p.m. ET/ 6 p.m. CT, ESPNU
Records: SH 5-2 SU, 5-2 ATS; ISU 4-2 SU, 4-2 ATS
Lines: Seton Hall -3, 151.5
KenPom: Seton Hall 77-74
Torvick: Seton Hall 78-74

No. 12 Texas Tech vs. Creighton betting lines and predictions

Tip-off: 10:30 p.m. ET/9:30 p.m. CT, FS1
Records: TTU 5-1 SU, 4-2 ATS; CRE 4-2 SU, 1-5 ATS
Lines: Texas Tech -6, 140.5
KenPom: Texas Tech 73-68
Torvick: Texas Tech 70-67

No. 15 Utah State vs. Saint Mary’s betting lines and predictions

Tip-off: 11:30 p.m. ET/10:30 p.m. CT, ESPNU
Records: USU 7-0 SU, 4-3 ATS; SM 5-1 SU, 2-4 ATS
Lines: Saint Mary’s -3.5, 134
KenPom: Saint Mary’s 70-66
Torvick: Saint Mary’s 67-64

MORE: Oddsmakers admit vulnerability with early-season totals

Bitnami